Revolution Sheer Lip in Ballerina (£3!) – Review & Swatches

Revolution Sheer Lip Ballerina 112 packaging

Hey everyone, I’m coming at you today with my first makeup-related post in literally forever. I’d been out of the swing of things makeup and blog-wise for a while and I’m so excited to be back on it, feeling motivated, re-inspired and ready to go! That being said, keep reading to find out what I think about the new, super-affordable Revolution Sheer Lip formula in the shade Ballerina, which I picked up in last week’s weekly wrap up post!

Revolution Sheer Lip Ballerina 112 Packaging 2

So I’m gonna start off, as always, by talking a little bit about the packaging. It actually feels pretty weighty and well-made in my opinion, and I like the clear and glossy look with the shade showing through, as that’s definitely what drew me to try this particular one. (It also reminds me a little bit of the Nyx butter gloss packaging?) The matching lid is also a nice touch; it’s a consistent point across all the matching lipsticks in their current range. If you don’t know what I’m on about, they recently released four different finishes (liquid matte, creme, sheer and matte) and you can purchase the same shade across all of them. I think it’s a really cool idea because it means if you don’t like matte liquid lipsticks, for example, but you like x colour, you can then look to buy it in another formula! Revolution Sheer Lip Ballerina 112 Applicator

Now I’m gonna talk about the applicator – it’s one of those flatter ones as opposed to a doe foot, which gives you a bit less control I think, but I haven’t had any problems applying it thus far. It’s not as difficult as the Jeffree Star ones (as I mentioned in my review of Unicorn Blood donkey’s years ago) what with it not being excessively large haha. But anyway, the product glides on really well with it and I’m happy with it overall! Revolution Sheer Lip Ballerina 112 Swatch

And finally we can move away from talking about packaging and onto the good stuff – the swatches! So here’s a little arm swatch of Ballerina; as you can see, the colour itself is gorgeous. It’s a beautiful muted pink colour and the shine is just there. The product glided on really nicely with the applicator and the coverage is there with one swipe, so the name “sheer” really confuses me, although I suppose in this case it could mean natural.

Revolution Sheer Lip Ballerina 112 Lip Swatch

And here it is on the lips! I think the colour looks absolutely stunning and it gives me nude sort of my-lips-but-better vibes and it doesn’t look like you have loads on, but it still fully covers your lips. It doesn’t feel heavy, greasy or sticky even though it doesn’t dry down which is great, because comfort is obviously really important in a lipstick (no one likes greasy lips amiright ladies). On account of it not drying down, it’s definitely not the most long-lasting lipstick ever, but it doesn’t transfer super heavily or go all over your face or anything like that so that’s good.

Overall, I’m really impressed with this lipstick as I wasn’t sure how it would perform or feel on the lips, but I was drawn in by the colour and I’m glad I got it! It’s pigmented, a stunning colour and it’s just perfect for an everyday, effortless lip; for the price point, it’s definitely made me want to try more colours, or maybe even more formulas, from the collection. Let me know what you think in the comment, or if you’ve tried any of the other lipsticks from the collection!

 

carla-x

Leave a comment