Urban Decay Full Spectrum palette (What I got for Christmas #1)

15820372_776711405810149_2024596160_n15782510_776711535810136_937012890_n

Christmas this year was such a great day for me and I really hope it was for all of you – and that you ate until you exploded! (Tbh I’m still eating away, oops). I just thought I’d do this little series reviewing a couple individual things I got for Christmas – not everything, just the beauty products as that’s what fits in with my blog. This is not a brag, I’m just really excited to review what I got!

Anyway… enough of my rambling, let’s get into it! You might have seen from my wish list or my Urban Decay Masterclass post, this was one of the two things I asked for for Christmas, and it was the one I wanted the most by far – the Urban Decay Full Spectrum palette. I was grinning like a madman when I opened this I can tell you that much. 15820398_776711852476771_1034438626_n

I’m gonna start off by saying that I love the packaging – it’s super sturdy, I love the lettering on the front, and the mirror is huge. (It also has a really smooth magnetic closure which I like). It comes with a cute little brush which I actually do use as it works really well for an included brush.

The palette contains 21 shadows, which is an insane amount in my opinion. It has a super diverse selection of colours and, being an advocate of bold eyeshadow, I was incredibly excited to play with this. It reminded me of a watercolour palette like the ones I used to paint with in art at school.

Now onto the swatches!

15750032_776712522476704_61066129_n

So in the first row we have (top to bottom): Alchemy, Warning, Midnight Blaze, Hundred, Minx, Delirious and Platonic. This is by far the darkest row, and the pigmentation doesn’t disappoint – especially in Alchemy, a rusted pink, and Warning, a burnt orange colour. My favourites from this row are probably those two, Hundred (because you all know I love my greens), and Minx, because that midnight blue shimmer is ev-ery-thing.

15730727_776713225809967_1721995840_n

This second row is the true rainbow of the palette – it has the shades (left to right): Gossip, Seize, Calavera, Hatter, Blindsided, Sketch and Iced. The pigmentation of this row absolutely blew me away. Some people might not think that these colours are everyday wearable, but I would say they definitely are for me because I love bright, bold colours. You’ve got Gossip, the gorgeous shimmery barbie pink, which I like to compliment using Seize in the crease (Seize is just a fabulous sunset orange/red crease colour in general, as is Calavera). I’d never seen a yellow eyeshadow before this, and it’s just so amazing. Also being the green fan that I am, I inevitably fell in love with Hatter, the most vibrant green I’ve ever seen (it also goes really nice with Sketch and Blindsided/Minx for some peacock vibes).

15801092_776713739143249_1724896161_n

This final row is full of especially usable everyday colours (top to bottom): Paranoia, Jones, Goldmine, Mean, Metamorphosis, Faded and Bump. Paranoia is kind of like the more subtle baby of Alchemy and Gossip, which is really cute. There’s also Goldmine, which is a nice more yellow-toned gold, and it goes really well with Jones.

The showstoppers of this row for me though are the last four colours. You have Mean, a super cute acid green colour, which really ties a lot of looks together and brings out my eyes. Then there’s Metamorphosis, which is a super unique sort of UV blue type colour. Faded is another one that’s really unique and gorgeous – that shimmer running through it is really something special. Finally you have Bump, which is the most pigmented white that I’ve ever seen; it makes the perfect base to really make these already popping colours pop even more fiercely.

Overall, this is without a doubt the best eyeshadow palette that I’ve ever owned. I’m absolutely blown away by the pigmentation of these eyeshadows and they blend like a dream. The colours are out of this world and I just think that the range of looks you can create are limitless. I’m super impressed and I would definitely recommend this palette to anyone; even if you don’t wear bright colours ordinarily – try something different!

carla-x

 

3 thoughts on “Urban Decay Full Spectrum palette (What I got for Christmas #1)

Leave a Reply

